In case you didn't know..... Joey and I are adopting twin girls!!!! YEA!!!!!
We are nearing the end of the process, so the family had to complete our final physicals this week.
I went last week to have my TB test and cholesterol screening finished. When I entered the office, they sent me right back to have my blood drawn for the tests. Ok, any of you that really know me KNOW I do not like needles. Yes, I have birthed two children. I have sat through multiple immunizations with ease. BUT, I do not like blood coming out of my own body through a needle !!
So, when I got to the office, I felt great! I had on my running clothes and was ready to go! When the nurse came in she brought a helper......a student nurse. First of all, I don't have anything against student nurses. I am in the same boat right now as a student teacher, so I feel her pain! But, I did not need a student nurse prodding around in my veins that morning! I needed a professional to do the job.
Anyway, the student nurse got all her materials ready and stuck me. About five minutes later (literally about 2 mins) she had no blood in the tube. I have arm veins that are very juicy and never seem to pose a problem with releasing blood, so I was a little puzzled by my situation. I asked the nurse..."having a problem?". She admitted she was, and now attempted to stick me in the other arm. At this point, I was still calm and collected. I was actually quite proud of myself! And then it happened....She stuck me! This one was painful. After the initial stick, she moved the needle around in my arm the entire time it was in there. I guess she thought if she just jabbed me a couple of times she would get something! Anyway, all the prodding made me weak...really weak! I warned her of my weakness several minutes into the process and the next thing I know I was waking up!! I had passed out! There were four nurses / doctors standing over me. They were wiping my face, giving me water, and saying "we didn't think you would ever come back". Uh.....I did, but not all the way. I had to sit there for another twenty minutes to regain normal color. AND.... I had to be stuck again. The nurse still didn't have enough blood for the test. I think next time I will just draw my own blood before I get to the office! :)
Yesterday was the boys and Joey's turn. Joey did great! He got stuck with the needle and didn't even cry! He didn't even seem to mind me taking his picture to prove he was part of the process. See his handsome face.....
The boys were pretty excited about participating, too. I checked them out of school early! That is always a happy day at our house!
When we arrived at the office to get their physicals Gabe began to get a little nervous. Poor thing...he had to strip down to his undies. He can be quite shy, so this was not fun for him.
Cole, on the other hand, was not bothered by anything! He stripped down, layed on the table, and was more than excited to see the doctor come in. He begged to be first!
Until...we got the news that both boys had to have a vaccination! This was not the best part of of their day. Poor things! Both of them thought we were about to head to YoGos and it got ruined by a darned ole shot! Cole did great! He always just sticks his arm out and takes it. Gabe hated it! He is just like me in that sense. Thank goodness he didn't pass out!
The best part...when we started to leave, Cole made a friend with one of the check-out ladies. Cole makes friends everywhere he goes. He loves to talk to people and will talk to anyone that will listen. The lady he befriended was not my check-out lady, but the one next door. He introduced himself and proceeded to fill her in on his toughness and ability to withstand any shot. He talked to her the entire time I was standing in line and checking out. When I informed him we were leaving, he winked at her and told her he would see her when he turned 11! (That is when his next shots are due!) That child is a mess! I think he knows everyone in town! Maybe he will introduce me to a few people....
So, after all that! We went to YoGos to celebrate! Yogurt for everyone! It was over and we had a pretty good day!
Adoption takes a lot of patience, time, and commitment. It is not something for every family, but our family sure has been blessed by it! We are now one step closer to completing the process and can't wait to have the girls forever!
No comments:
Post a Comment